top of page

Time to get on with it...

The no nails worked yay, so the wall has bonded to the timber. There is a couple of areas not gone so well, small patches, so a run of gorilla glue in and all is done.

Now here I apologise for the lack of photos as I go but I'm working on my own and i forget to do it as I go as I get engrossed in what I'm doing.

Well after some deep thought, I decided on the interior finish of 5mm ply with fablon covering. The existing wall is like 3mm cardboard with wallpaper on so only a 2 mm difference and careful measuring shows that the window seal, which have now arrived, will fit over this. The timber I sourced from Champion Timber Supplies who cut the sheet of ply to overall size for me

I cleaned up all the window edges with white spirit and degreased all of them with methylated spirit. The interior wall was in 3 sections, 2 outer identical and a middle. Luckily one of the outer sections came off in one piece so I could use that as a template to cut out the window gap. The centre piece I clamped in place and ran a pencil around the window gap from the outside. All marked up it was then just a case of using a jigsaw to cut out the holes. To help adhesion and avoid the glue of the fablon being dried out by the ply, I mixed up a solution of pva glue and water and gave each piece a generous covering.

To fix these back up I just used an electric nail gun with a good helping of 12mm pins . Once all up and fixed, I measured out rough sizes of fablon, stuck this to the wall and trimmed with a stanley knife.

Wall up, onto the window seal. Starting at the centre run the seal around the window, meeting back at the start + an inch. make sure its in full contact with the body and staple in place, its that easy. This video at about 4 minutes onwards shows very well how it should be done:

Now, he has a lovely window insert tool, I and probably you dont, so its a very manual job and time consuming. So much so I only managed to get one on before finishing up. But I'm happy to have made headway into the repair

Hopefully get it finished at the weekend!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Twitter Clean
bottom of page