top of page

Back together....well I started :)

Over to the van and it was HOT. Apparently its the hottest bank holiday since records began and I'm caravan fixing. Considering how wet it was, look at the meter now :)

After much thought I have concluded that the main leak came from the window seal failing. My logic is that as the timber goes upwards, it gets less stained. Also the staining pattern goes away from the window. There are some hair line cracks around the screws on the window rail that needed dealing with and a hairline crack above the window rail that had been covered with mastic. So 1st job was to get rid of said mastic and to clean up the window rail. i used silicone remover above the rail. It comes in a mastic tube style that you squeeze on like mastic but takes a couple of hours to soak in. it is so worth it as saved me a lot of fiddly scraping. then I cleaned off the rail with a sealant remover tool and a soft cloth with white spirit. I then used white spirit to clean all round the windows and wiped down with meths to create a clean adhesive surface.

To deal with the hair line cracks I used a product called plast-aid. Its a two part system of powder and liquid. If i didnt know better I would guess its powdered ABS and acetone. You simply mix up 2 powder to 1 fluid to a consistency you like then apply. It sets in about 5-10 minutes. I filled the cracks, after drilling a tiny hole at each end of the cracks and left to set.

On the now exposed plywood I applied a generous coating of wood hardener as I dont think I will need to replace this at this time. I put some matchsticks in the window rail screw holes to get a better fixing when it goes back up. Using PU-18, I put a ring around the screw hole and ran a generous amount along the rail itself. I screxed the rail back on and made sure some pu-18 was inside the screw holes.

Rail on, I used no-nails to bond the fibre glass to the wood, but, I am unsure if this will be enough to hold. I've clamped it all up but if it doesnt bond I will go with gorilla glue, fingers crossed it will hold well.

Covered up and wait and see if the glue holds:

This simple heater dried it all in 24 hours:


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Twitter Clean
bottom of page